Monday, August 11, 2014



If you love Amish quilts here's a terrific book for you to look for. I found it at a thrift store and it is a gold mine!
There are wonderful color photos. Here are 2 pages of railroad crossing quilts.


Block 8 of Benjamin Biggs quilt. 

Have a great day!



16 comments:

  1. That book looks familiar, have to look in my bookcase.... sometimes I find books there I forgot I had. Lovely BB block! Are you making the regular size or a smaller size?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Your Benjamin biggs block looks great, you are really keeping up on it.
    Greetings,
    Sylvia

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh, thanks for the book tip. I love to find "oldies but goodies" and will look for it. Your block is beautiful too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. The book looks great! The BB quilt is going to be amazing. Love the red and green, but I don't know how you can do the hand appliqué with all the little curves in and out!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love this book - want to make amish quilts? I've been mulling it over lately.

    ReplyDelete
  6. There are a tin if triangles in those railroad crossing quilts. I think mine would turn out wonky trying to get so many pieces sewn well.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I purchased my copy of that book from at my local Half Price Books store. Graphic Amish quilts never disappoint.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Nice score on the book. Those railroad crossing quilts are beautiful! Another beautiful block too!

    ReplyDelete
  9. First book I ever bought! Still one of my favorites!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Your Benjamin Boggs blocks are really looking amazing!!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Looks like a wonderful find. I haven't been thrifting in ages but I have found some good ones in the thrift stores, good place to find books.

    Debbie

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love that book! Would also recommend The Amish Quilt by Eve Wheatcroft Granick and there are a lot of inspiring Amish (and other) quilts in American Quilts, The Democratic Art, 1780-2007 by Robert Shaw.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Great find - I love Rachel and Kenneth Pellman's books. They are packed with beautiful Amish & Mennonite quilts, gorgeous quilting, and wonderful history. Love your applique, too!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have this book in my library, and love looking at it for inspiration.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Good thrift shop find! Do I see an Amish doll quilt in our next winter/ future? (Now when I see Amish, my mind pictures ''Amish Mafia/ Lancaster Levi" from tv, makes me laugh. Sad.)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I've had that book for years and still just love it!

    ReplyDelete

I love to reply to comments or a question. If you are on noreply-comment@blogger.com I have no way of contacting you. Please leave an email address. If you need help changing the setting please email me.

Because of the recent uptake in spam I am no longer allowing anonymous comments. If you want to comment feel free to send me an email as I would love to hear from you!

Archive

LinkWithin

Blog Widget by LinkWithin